Collection Lagavulin - Islay Single Malt Scotch Whisky

Lagavulin Distillery is a malt whiskey distillery in the village of Lagavulin on the south of the island of Islay, Scotland.

Lagavulin is owned by Diageo, a multinational alcoholic beverages company headquartered in London. It was previously marketed under the Classic Malts name, which no longer exists.

The standard bottling is a 16 year old whiskey at 43% ABV. In addition, a Distiller's Edition is bottled, which is stored in Pedro Ximénez Sherry casks. A cask strength 12-year-old version as well as various older and rarer bottlings are also regularly released.

The name Lagavulin is an Anglicisation of Lag a' Mhuilinn, the Scottish Gaelic word for mill.

Lagavulin Distillery officially dates back to 1816 when John Johnston and Archibald Campbell Brooks established two distilleries on the site. One of these became Lagavulin by taking over the other - which one is not exactly known. However, records show that as early as 1742 there were at least ten illegal distilleries on the site. The 19th century saw several legal disputes with neighboring Laphroaig after Lagavulin distiller Peter Mackie leased the Laphroaig distillery. It is said Mackie tried to copy Laphroaig's style. Because the water and peat on the Lagavulin site were different from those at Laphroaig, the result was inconsistent. The Lagavulin distillery is located in the village of the same name.

Lagavulin is known for its manufacturer using a slow distillation speed and pear-shaped pot stills. The two wash stills have a capacity of 11,000 liters and the two spirit stills of 12,500 liters each.