Collection Glen Moray - Speyside Single Malt Scotch Whisky

Glen Moray Distillery is a Speyside distillery producing single malt Scotch whisky. The distillery is situated on the banks of the River Lossie in Elgin, Moray and started production in September 1897. It was acquired by Glenmorangie Company Ltd in 2008. sold to La Martiniquaise.

Glen Moray began as West Brewery in Elgin operated by Robert Thorne & Sons and was converted to a two still distillery in 1897. After a fire and an extensive rebuilding program at Aberlour distillery, the company focused on the production of Aberlour whiskey and left the Glen Moray distillery to fall into disrepair. It was closed in 1910. Sometime in the 1920's the distillery was purchased by the Glenmorangie Distillery owners, the MacDonald and Muir families.

The company is now owned by La Martiniquaise, which uses part of the production for its blended whiskey Label 5, together with its Starlaw distillery in West Lothian. The distillery expanded in 2012 to an annual production of 3,300,000 liters from 3 wash stills and 3 spirit stills.

The distillery has a visitor center that offers tours and tastings year-round.

1 Produkt

Kategorie: Glen Moray - Speyside Single Malt Scotch Whisky

Die Glen Moray Distillery ist eine Speyside-Brennerei, die Single Malt Scotch Whisky herstellt. Die Brennerei befindet sich am Ufer des Flusses Lossie in Elgin, Moray, und nahm im September 1897 die Produktion auf. Sie wurde im Jahr 2008 von der Glenmorangie Company Ltd. an La Martiniquaise verkauft.

Glen Moray begann als West Brewery in Elgin, die von Robert Thorne & Sons betrieben wurde, und wurde 1897 in eine Brennerei mit zwei Brennblasen umgewandelt. Nach einem Brand und einem umfangreichen Wiederaufbauprogramm in der Aberlour-Destillerie konzentrierte sich das Unternehmen auf die Produktion von Aberlour-Whisky und ließ die Glen Moray-Destillerie verkommen. Sie wurde im Jahr 1910 geschlossen. Irgendwann in den 1920er Jahren wurde die Brennerei von den Eigentümern der Glenmorangie-Brennerei, den Familien MacDonald und Muir, erworben.

Das Unternehmen gehört heute zu La Martiniquaise, die einen Teil der Produktion für ihren Blended Whisky Label 5 verwendet, zusammen mit ihrer Brennerei Starlaw in West Lothian. Die Brennerei wurde 2012 auf eine Jahresproduktion von 3.300.000 Litern aus 3 Wash Stills und 3 Spirit Stills erweitert.

Die Brennerei verfügt über ein Besucherzentrum, das ganzjährig Führungen und Verkostungen anbietet.
Glen Moray - Speyside Single Malt Scotch Whisky